Yes, love is one of those four letter words…

Happy_Valentines_DayFor all of those who dread the weekend ahead, there are many more of us who look forward to it. Sunday is Valentine’s Day…the holiday where love is celebrated just as it should be. And lovers have a wide variety of ways to express just how much the ones they love mean to them.

For me and my handsome hubby, we chose to turn the day into a double whammy chock full of love by getting married on that day just two years ago. The date was 2-14-14, and it was 14 months after we first fell in love.

You couldn’t get more romantic. We also knew that in the future if either of us forgot our wedding anniversary and Valentine’s Day, there would be real hell to pay!

Love is a four letter word. As is hell. They both invoke so much passion inside of us when they enter our hearts, our minds, our lives. When you think about it, all of the four letter words are felt with equal passion. “I hate you!” “F*** you!” “Sh*t!” “Damn!” “Go to hell!” OR “I love you!” “I miss you!” “Kiss me!” I could go on.

Each and every one of these declarations trigger deeply felt emotional responses within their exploiters as well as within their targeted recipients if, in fact, they are living objects (we all know that the objects aren’t always alive).

Ironically, there are more four letter words that we use to symbolize the love we want to express to someone. Card. Gift. Rose. Kiss. Poem. Song. Ring. Meal. Wine. Beer. Oh, and one might invoke that one four-letter word again in some cases…you know…a good “f***” or more nicely put, a romantic evening of lovemaking.

Chocolate doesn’t make the four-letter word list, but I’m sure we can figure out a way to make it work within the limits if we try.

All of these symbols, these expressions, are as passionately impactful as the emotions they have been invoked to represent.

Words are powerful, even at just a mere four letters.

I was told repeatedly for a good chunk of my life that “feelings are liars.” But, as my Kevin has pointed out to me often enough, feelings are who we are. They are how we feel.

If our feelings are liars, then does that mean we are all living un-authentically every time we tell our children we love them as we kiss them good night? Are we lying when we grieve the loss of someone who we told for years how much we love them? Is it false to cry when we hurt? Does anger feel fake as it flushes our faces? What is it then that causes our hearts to swell with pride when we watch our child perform his first drum solo or have his first piece on display in the art gallery? Were we all faking it as we watched in horror and disbelief as the planes crashed and the towers fell?

Love is one of those four letter words. And maybe I used to think it was often a lie. But I have come to terms with it, and all the other four letter words we embrace or dread. I am now living as authentically as the world will let me. I am enveloped in love, and life sounds good, and feels even better. I invite you to do the same.

Now we just need to come up with a four letter word for chocolate…or better yet, those red velvet cheesecake brownies that my sweetheart makes better than anyone else ever.

Valentine’s Day…bring it on!

