10 Things I’ve Come to Realize over the Past 10 Months

100_4895This week I thought I’d travel down the path less traveled. I thought I’d write about something that is merely entertaining rather than being all serious and professional like I usually am when I write these posts…but as I reviewed my journal notes, I realized that the life of a nerdish author/writer/bibliophile is pretty much non-climactic. There’s not much drama in this girl’s world these days…

I continued to think about other things I’ve realized over the past year so far, though. And perhaps the biggest revelation I’ve made in 2015 came with a conscious decision just a few months back. I finally said to myself, not just in my mind but out loud as well, “It’s time to really start DOING. You’ve studied HOW long enough…”

Further research brought me to 10 other realizations I noted in the 10 months of 2015 that have passed so far:

  1. Carrying-Grocery-BagsIt’s okay to make more than one trip from the parking lot to your third-floor apartment with your groceries. It’s not because you’re a girl or out of shape or old…you’re actually working on getting in those 10,000 steps a day…
  2. Popcorn and Diet Coke can be a satisfying meal when you’re home alone on a Tuesday night…
  3. Dishes still don’t do themselves…I’d pay them to do so if they would…
  4. Shoppers are as thoughtless out East as they were back in the Midwest…
  5. Absence might make the heart grow fonder, but it sure doesn’t make your college student call as often as he should…
  6. My husband’s wood shop tool collection is much more expansive than all of my books…
  7. Work-related notes: a writer and an author are actually two different types of wordsmiths…one may not necessarily be the other…and apparently most song lyrics are written after the music composition is underway, not the other way around…
  8. Pasta is still bad for me, but it still tastes too good to pass up…
  9. lady in libraryI will never finish every unread book on the shelves of my home library…
  10. Family…it’s those people who care enough about you to stand by your side throughout the most painful and most humiliating of moments in your life…they stand with you in your fight against immorality as well as when it’s time to shine in the sun…

Can’t wait to discover what else I’ll come to terms with in the months that remain…

